New Book: The Good, Postmodernism, and Beyond

Co-Authored by Stephen R. C. Hicks and Michael Newberry

Stephen R. C. Hicks and Michael Newberry, The Good, Postmodernism, and Beyond
Stephen R. C. Hicks and Michael Newberry, The Good, Postmodernism, and Beyond

In 2001 Stephen Hicks and I collaborated on a project, he wrote the introduction, Post-Postmodern Art, to my Manifesto. I had the easier work or harder work depending on how you look at it, the Manifesto is only four sentences but the four paintings represent five years of work. Later in 2003 I founded The Foundation for the Advancement of Art, which culminated in our conference in New York at the Pierre Hotel. There Hicks gave the talk: From Modern to Postmodern Art and Beyond (which has 11.5K views), and I believe it was the catalyst for his well-known article, Why Art Became Ugly. Incidentally, philosopher David Kelley gave a wonderful talk, Art and Ideals. The new book project is putting together Hick’s Post-Postmodern Art and Why Art Became Ugly, The Newberry Manifesto, along with an Introduction and front and back matter. The book will be about 30 pages. It should be ready soon, July, 2021.

Michael, Idyllwild, 6/22/2021

6 Replies to “New Book: The Good, Postmodernism, and Beyond”

  1. I like Stephen Hicks. I listened to his audio book on Post Modernism years ago, and it really gave me some useful perspective. It’s one of the many sources I used to deprogram myself from my art education and social indoctrination.

    1. Eric, “…one of the many sources I used to deprogram myself from my art education and social indoctrination.” That is a meaningful compliment. It’s like you have been to hell and back, and you are turning it all into an extraordinarily rich life lesson.

  2. Can’t imagine a more powerful duo. Like Thor wielding thundar bolt kill shots, Hicks and Newberry are the bringer of balance, both heart and mind in a single focused sphere.

Leave a comment